Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Small device with gps tracking capability from a smartphone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thomas Hutton

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Nice blog and very informative. I have a questions I am hoping someone might have some advice.

I am new to electronics and looking to make something with the following functions.

Small device with gps tracking capability from a smartphone. Plus the ability to click a button (from an app) which activates a vibration on the device. Also maybe another button on the app where I can remotely turn on an LED light.

I found a battery, vibration device, gps, and am not sure what kind of circuit board I need?

Any thoughts?

Sincerely,
Shane

Last edited by a moderator:

Re: Newbie needs help with electronics questions. PLEASE HELP!

application.png
The image above shows a basic block diagram of which systems are there and how are they connected. A PIC16Fxxxx mid range 8-bit micro controller is the center and will control all the peripherals. Power supply is provided to MCU (microcontroller unit) and all peripherals (not shown in figure). GPS will provide data u need with communication protoc like UART. The bluetooth module is used to communicate to bluetooth mobile application from which things will get controlled (as what i understood from above question) as slave device. Vibration device can be controlled through ports or internal MCU peripheral (in case of motor). You can add LED or any other indicator or notification etc as you need.