Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] skill code to display a specific coordinate

Status
Not open for further replies.

egx

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,433
i have lowerleft and upperright coordinates saved in variables.
and i need a skill function to display the coordinates.

i dont wanna enter the coordinates somewhere and display it. i need a code!!!

thanks
 

dgnani

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 25, 2009
Messages
425
Helped
160
Reputation
322
Reaction score
152
Trophy points
1,323
Location
USA
Activity points
4,007
I'm not sure I get it:
- do you want to display a specific region of a layout given the LL and UR coordinates?
- do you want to print the coordinate to screen?

Please clarify
 

jjx

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
116
Helped
32
Reputation
64
Reaction score
33
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Scania
Activity points
2,226
(And also, to give you a piece of code, you would probably have to tell us how the coordinates are saved in your variables.)

This would be one... but... probably as simple snippet as this would not be what you want?
However, I would like to recommend to dump info to the CIW rather than trying some fancy popup window. Secondly, another nice feature is to use the ruler tool to display some certain areas. You could for example write a snippet that creates four indicators of your box, or even draws the box using the ruler layer (no need to open the layout view in write mode).


;; xLL and yLL have to be defined
(setq LL (list xLL yLL))

;; xUR and yUR have to be defined
(setq UR (list xUR yUR))

(printf "::> LL: %L -- UR: %L\n" LL UR)

or

(defun printCoords (LL UR)
(printf "LL: %L :: UR: %L \n" LL UR)
)

and then tie printCoords to one of your bindkeys, where you cleverly have to direct your input parameters LL and UR to the function.
 

egx

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,433
i already have coordinates and want to display a specific region of a layout.
so it is first item.

i have 4 variables l,d,r and u (left,down,right,up)
i am writing a skill script and i will use the code as a part of it.
this is my first script so maybe it can be a simple code
 
Last edited:

jjx

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
116
Helped
32
Reputation
64
Reaction score
33
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Scania
Activity points
2,226
aha,
so in that case, you just want to zoom to a certain area? Try:

hiZoomIn

and then, for example, (from the top of my head)

(hiZoomAbsoluteScale getCurrentWindow() 1)
(hiZoomIn getCurrentWindow() (list (list LEFT DOWN) (list RIGHT UP)))

Probably you need to do some adjustments to that snippet, but at least the two hiZoomAbsoluteScale and hiZoomIn should be able to get you further.
 
  • Like
Reactions: egx

    egx

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

egx

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,433
thanks a lot jix
it works.

the second code is enough.
(hiZoomIn getCurrentWindow() (list (list LEFT DOWN) (list RIGHT UP)))
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top