Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

single ended Folded cascode design - starting point!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayanth.neo

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
folded cascode design

Hi all,

I am new to analog design and I am currently designing an Nmos input folded cascode amplifier. I have the following specs to meet at Vdd 2.7V and 0.35u technology:

can use an ideal current source of 5uA which can be mirrored accordingly.
Aol >50dB
swing = 2 V
power dissipation = 0.8mW.
Load cap = 15pF
UGF - 25MHz
Phase margin = 60
HD3 of 50dB with 5Khz input signal.

I would like to know how to start with the sizing of the cascode stack consisting of 2 PMOS and 2 NMOS on each branch. I am designing for a single ended output ( and have diode connected an NMOS on one side of the branch.

What imp points should I consider while sizing the Diff pair and the cascode stack for a UGF > 25MHz and phase margin of 60?

What can be the length of the transistors? I am currently using 1um for all transistors at .35um technology.

Any suggestion on the design procedure and useful directions will be greatly helpful.

Thanks

cascode design

maybe you could find the answers from Allen's book

folded cascode amplifier design

Do you mean Allen hasting's book?

I just wanted to know how to design the bias circuit for a cascode stack? 2 stacks of PMOS and 2 stacks of NMOS.

I jus wanted to know the basic procedure for that.

single ended folded cascode

I think lwjbh means Allen ad Goldberg book for analog.
I think also Razavi's book is good " Design of Analog CMOS Integrated Ciruits"