Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simulating a NETLIST in ADS from the command line?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eduardo.ea3ghs

Newbie level 4
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
6
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318


Hello friends,
Thanks for read this.

- I want to do optimizations in a circuit from a MATLAB environment (for example).
- I want to use the harmonic balance analysis in the ADS simulator.

But...

- I don't know how generate a ADS NETLIST.
- I don't know how run ADS with that NETLIST from the command line.
- I don't know how export results from a dataset of ADS from the command line
and/or how to configure the export_results_to_file component.

(This kind of things are very easy to do with LTSPICE or QUCS).

Thanks in advance,
Eduardo

 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
765
Reputation
1,530
Reaction score
720
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,453

eduardo.ea3ghs

Newbie level 4
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
6
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
hello pancho..
thanks for your help
I have been palying with a ADS and with this simple line in a MeasEQN block:

x=write_var("/home/edu/borrame.s2p","W","#Hz S RI R 50"," ","f",,freq,S11,S21,S12,S22)

and I can export to a S2P file after simulating a circuit.
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
765
Reputation
1,530
Reaction score
720
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,453

sneally

Newbie level 1
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
hello pancho..
thanks for your help
I have been palying with a ADS and with this simple line in a MeasEQN block:

x=write_var("/home/edu/borrame.s2p","W","#Hz S RI R 50"," ","f",,freq,S11,S21,S12,S22)

and I can export to a S2P file after simulating a circuit.

still new to ADS here, i looked at the links but am confused where to add the write_var command. can you put it directly in the netlist file? and where is the MeasEQN block found?
-thanks!
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
765
Reputation
1,530
Reaction score
720
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,453
  • Like
Reactions: joesef

    joesef

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top