Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Silvaco TCAD: Constant Impurity Concentration In the Allocation Profile

Stuff1161

Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
59
Hi everyone! I'm just trying to learn how to user the Silvaco TCAD and I have a point, that I can't understand. I'm using the following directives to create a structure and implant an impurity:

Code:
go athena

# GRID
line x loc=0.00 spac=0.10
line x loc=1 spac=0.10

line y loc=0.00 spac=0.001
line y loc=1 spac=0.001


# SUBSTRATE
init silicon c.arsenic=2.3e15 orientation=100 two.d

# IMPLANT
implant boron dose=3.2e15 energy=125 tilt=0 rotation=0 crystal 
#
extract name="zad2xj" xj material="Silicon" mat.occno=1 x.val=0.5 datafile="zad2" junc.occno=1

STRUCTURE OUTFILE=zad2.str
Then I'm open the structure in the Tony Plot and use a cutline to see the allocation profile. On the allocation profile, we can see that impurity concentration is decreasing with increasing the depth, but for some reason when impurity concentration becomes equal to 10^5 cm^-3 (concentration of Boron after ~0.55 mkm depth), it starts to be constant with increasing of the depth. And I can't understand why, because from the technology's point of view impurity concentration must decreasing, not being constant. Could someone explain it? Thank you in advance!



zad2cutlinexj_main.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

timof

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
606
Helped
205
Reputation
410
Reaction score
197
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
6,501
I see an increasing implanted impurity (boron) concentration up to 0.5 um, then it falls off.

Arsenic concentration was defined to be constant, equal to 2.3e15 cm-3 - why are you expecting to see anything but constant (as a function of depth)?

Read the description of the "init" command in the Athena user manual, what do its parameters mean.
 

Stuff1161

Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
59
I see an increasing implanted impurity (boron) concentration up to 0.5 um, then it falls off.

Arsenic concentration was defined to be constant, equal to 2.3e15 cm-3 - why are you expecting to see anything but constant (as a function of depth)?

Read the description of the "init" command in the Athena user manual, what do its parameters mean.
Maybe I'm should be more clear. I'm interested in only about boron. As you can see on the Boron graph, concentration up to 0,5 um, then it falls off. My question is why it falls off till 1e5 cm-3 and becomes constant (concentration is 1e5 cm-3 for all depth that >0,5 um), not to zero as I expecting.
 

timof

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
606
Helped
205
Reputation
410
Reaction score
197
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
6,501
Oh, I see now, what you are thinking about.

Well, electrically, a doping concentration of 1e5 cm-3 is essentially zero, it does not have any electrical effect whatsoever.
Why they set it at exactly this level - I have no idea.
Maybe you can find this info in the manual.
But if you change this constant level by 1-2-3-4 orders of magnitude up or down - nothing should happen, all the electrical results would be exactly teh same.
Do not bother about this small concentration, you can treat it as zero.
 

Stuff1161

Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
59
Oh, I see now, what you are thinking about.

Well, electrically, a doping concentration of 1e5 cm-3 is essentially zero, it does not have any electrical effect whatsoever.
Why they set it at exactly this level - I have no idea.
Maybe you can find this info in the manual.
But if you change this constant level by 1-2-3-4 orders of magnitude up or down - nothing should happen, all the electrical results would be exactly teh same.
Do not bother about this small concentration, you can treat it as zero.
I know that is too much low value, but in my university it's a principal question why it's not 0. But anyway, thanks, still trying to find an answer
 

timof

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
606
Helped
205
Reputation
410
Reaction score
197
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
6,501
There is a mesh, along the "depth" (Y) direction.
The doping is defined on the mesh, in every point.
Having doping equal to zero (rather than a small, irrelevant value) may cause some computational problems, e.g. when evaluating various mathematical functions, like log.
That's the reason "why" they set some minimum value.

Now, the question of "how" they (Silvaco) do that - try to read the manual.
If you cannot find it - ask Silvaco, if you can do that.
I am nto aware of any forums specializing in TCAD, where you would get an immediate answer.
 

Stuff1161

Newbie
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
59
There is a mesh, along the "depth" (Y) direction.
The doping is defined on the mesh, in every point.
Having doping equal to zero (rather than a small, irrelevant value) may cause some computational problems, e.g. when evaluating various mathematical functions, like log.
That's the reason "why" they set some minimum value.

Now, the question of "how" they (Silvaco) do that - try to read the manual.
If you cannot find it - ask Silvaco, if you can do that.
I am nto aware of any forums specializing in TCAD, where you would get an immediate answer.
The version of computational problems is great! Thank you !!!!
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top