Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Selecting transformer for a power supply with UPS backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

hamzahaider

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am working to make a power supply with Ups backup. Im still learning different things about making a power supply. However currently i am trying to chose an appropriate transformer size.

my load would be

1) 5v, 2A
2) 12v, 2A.

Some one told me that a transformer 220vac to 18vac rated at 3A would be more than enough. However when I used Isis protues to simulate the current being drawn, the ac current rose to above 4A on a 15v 2A lamp which equals 30W. The DC current being drawn was however 1.6A after being rectified which makes sense at around 18v it almost equals 30W.

Now i am confused on how big a transformer should i use.

Ive attached a jpeg of the simulation for reference.

Any sort of help is well appreciated so thank you in advance.

Power Supply Issue

I cannot tell from your simulation what you are actually measuring, but what matters to the transformer is average power. Your simulation could be showing peak current. You would need to do a transient analysis and plot average power to determine if there is a problem.

Keith

Re: Power Supply Issue

First, you have to decide whether you’ll use linear or switching voltage regulators ..
Switching regulators have roughly 75% efficiency, linear – depending on the difference [Vin-Vout] - much lower than that ..
For example, 5V linear voltage regulator at 2A load and Vin=15V will produce max 10W “load” power and >20W “heat”-wasted power – efficiency is below 33% ..