Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

searching FPGA for a new project.

Status
Not open for further replies.

taquionbcn

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi there,

As the title says, I'm looking for an FPGA for my new project. I have been working with cyclon IV on the terasic DE2-115 development board, so I have some experience with altera quartus, IP cores,...

Now I want to do a Prototyping board for use in future projects, the main project for what I want it is a robotic one with video capture, machine-learning, tracking, objects classification , communication,....

I don't want to pay more than 1000$, I have been searching comparison between stratix III , stratix IV , virtex 5 , virtex 6. But now I have a mess of data in my head.
I would like hi frequency clock, more than 400 I/O pins, more than 100K LE , DDR 2 or 3 ,...

Whats your experience using the different models? what would your recommend me?

Thank you very much.
Guillermo

What you want to do is a big project, and I doubt you could do it all for <$1000. You will probably need processor running alongside the FPGA to do most of the control, so a virtex with a powerPC core might be suitable.

What you're wanting to do is already done by these guys: **broken link removed**

but they'll charge $10-20k per board.

I have seen tracking with cyclon IV so that expensive board is not necessary, otherwise I want to do all the soft/Hard by myself , not to buy already made modules.

I have been looking the datasheet of the FPGA I said before,
what family of xilinx is the equivalent of stratix III?