Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SDR and virtex 4 sx35

Status
Not open for further replies.

asraf

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hai there,
my name is asraf and im from malaysia.currently im working on software defined radio implemented in FPGA.
im a new beginner to FPGA and wondering which FPGA board shall i use to implement the SDR?wheter virtex 4 or spartan 3e?
i also need to know whether i have to buy any extra module to support the FPGA board to make the SDR workout.
please reply to me as soon as possible.tq

SDR, means you have to have big FPGA that too with lots of DSP slices and BLock RAM. Again Support of hard or soft microprocessor
will be much helpful. Selecting Virtex 5 FPGA will be good...But if this is first time.... you can go for V4 to generate and test independent module.
Well for testing your code you will require good signal generator and DSO. Let you first start with basic module development. All the best.

thank you for your reply Mr amitjagtap. im still wondering whether i have to use IF module and RF module with the virtex 4 as Baseband module to test my generated QPSK modulation ? is there anyway other way for me to test my code? and i have another problem : now i only have virtex 4 sx35 ML402 board.im not sure how to integrate the board(virtex 4) with IF and RF module as RF front end.please help me.im a new beginner.

Asraf,