Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

School project with laser diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

bolle91

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm studying engineering: applied physics..

In our project, we need to make a device that detects a concentration of black soot in the air..

To do that, we need to have a laser diode that shoots a particle, which will then send out sound waves if the laser has the right frequency.

Anyway, we need to start with the signal of a sound card (computer) and from there we need to make the electronics to make the laser diode work.

We know we need to add a current with a circuit with opamps and transistors and it should remain a sine-function.. Any help?? Thx.

I already found this:

http://www.bcae1.com/opamp.htm (opamp as a regulator) Could that be the right answer?

" have a laser diode that shoots a particle", lasers fire out a beam of light, which is silent. Does your laser beam explode the soot particles?. Why do the particles send out sound in relationship to the laser frequency? Most lasers are fixed frequency.
If somehow this thing works, Why are you starting with an output from a PC? Most laser diodes are switched on or off so they need a pulse wave form. Its the best way to get a high peak light output with a low average power so the diode does not overheat.
Frank

" have a laser diode that shoots a particle", lasers fire out a beam of light, which is silent. Does your laser beam explode the soot particles?. Why do the particles send out sound in relationship to the laser frequency? Most lasers are fixed frequency.