Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

S parameters

Status
Not open for further replies.

RFrag

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am very new to RF engineering. I wanted to set up a circuit before which I was asked to check the S parameters of the DUT. Now my understanding is that I check the S parameters to understand at what frequency, the DUT will transmit maximum power and at what frequency it won't. With this I can expect the same behaviour of the DUT when connected in the circuit setup. Is that correct?

Also, when I measure the S parameters, the values vary based on the movement of the cables from the VNA to the DUT. How can I minimize that?

Hi,

Yes. The test result is only as good as the test arrangement.

Avoid (long) cables.
Avoid their movement (by fixing them)
Avoid the cables influence at all. By using the right cable (shielded, twisted, correct characteristic impedance...) or by using buffers, differential signaling.

Some hints to find out the "quality" of your test arragement.
* Do a test with the DUT as reference (always use the same DUT)
* Do the test again (immediately) to find out precision
* Do the test on different day times
* Do the test in a different room
* Do the test on a different (identical) arrangement
* let the whole test be done by a different person.

The less variation you see the better your test arrangement, the more convincing are the results.

Klaus