Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RS232<-->RS485 IC ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SphinX

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
822
Helped
58
Reputation
116
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
7,045
rs232 rs485 ic

Hi,

Is there any single IC that performs RS232<-->RS485 conversion ?


Thanx
 

Frosty

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
347
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
EARTH
Activity points
4,166
rs485 ic motorola

Please do not look at this answer as being sarcastic.

Have you looked at using a PIC or Motorola Nitron for this task?

Having seen the cost of UARTS for this, and they still need a micro anyway, might be best option as both companies supply a protocol stack for this anyway for free
 

Frosty

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
347
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
EARTH
Activity points
4,166
rs232 to rs485 ic

Or you could use a Startech (Exar) UART like the ST16Cxx as they have 2 serial channels that can do 8/9 bit and clocked independent to each other, with or without FIFO

TI/MSC have same ideas.

All need 8 bit interface with Micro :cry:
 

papyaki

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
539
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,298
Location
France
Activity points
5,346
rs485 ic rs232

Hi

Maxim MAX3160-3162

h**//www.maxim-ic.com/quick_view2.cfm?qv_pk=2318&ln=

* = t
 

mrcube_ns

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
452
Helped
48
Reputation
96
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Europe
Activity points
3,814
rs485 ic model

if I'm not wrong max485 is IC for that (likemax232).

regards.

Mr.Cube
 

SphinX

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
822
Helped
58
Reputation
116
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
7,045
sipex sp485 maxim max485

Hi,

SN75176 is easy to interface and i have used it.

Thanx
SphinX
 

prokopec

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 13, 2003
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
213
max3160 pic

you can use SIPEX SP485
 

mtawab74

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
67
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
489
rs 485 ic

You can try this from TI sn65lbc184

also i think a chipt that convert from 232<<>> 485 will be expensive if avilabel

you can try two chip solution like Max232 + TI sn65lbc184

salam
 

Shek

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jun 30, 2004
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
26
best rs485 ic

If your problem is that you want to connect the COM port of a PC to a RS485 bus, you can use ADM-4000 series converter. Its isolated.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top