Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Routing ground traces

Status
Not open for further replies.

yashiro32

Member level 1
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
38
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,501
What are the things to take note of when routing ground traces on a PCB ?
 

rudane

Member level 1
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
38
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
347
Try having a multi-layer board. Make one of the planes ground so you can via down to the plane, that way you don't have to worry about making ground traces.
 

difflvl

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
110
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,985
If its a 2 layer board, try to pour ground copper if you can't do that then make sure the traces are thick. Going 4 layers with a ground plane would be recommended but its not necessary for all designs.
 

Raju_epigon

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
77
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,710
Hai,

the track width of the Gnd track should be more, and make the free space in the PCBs are in to gnd copper, rout the gnd tracks as short, put more multiple vias to make the gnd path as short.

Thanks,

R. Balasubramaniaraju
 

nathan80

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
61
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Malaysia
Activity points
1,882
if you are routing a one layer board; then you need to make the traces connecting to the ground to be thicker. try to make all unused area in the board as ground copper area. try to make all traces connecitng to gnd as short as possible.
 

kudjung

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
77
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
733
This is a little too broad questions.
-What kind of technology this PCB use, pure digital, Mixed Signal, Analog?
-What is your concern, noise, emi, etc?

In general.
-Avoid mixing analog ground with the digital ground, to avoid noise from digital getting into analog circuit. Tie them only at one point. It will be better for EMI to tie both ground in a very big piece as possible but make sure you already seperate aganlog and digital ground.

-For low layer board, pay a lot of attentention to maximize the ground area. Put ground tie vias to get some ground into the area.

-Use thick trace to connect components to ground.
 

RF-OM

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
582
Helped
123
Reputation
246
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,298
Location
The Earth
Activity points
5,747
Yes, this question is too broad. Actual design depends on what you need to do. Switching power supply will dramatically differ from GigaHertz RF front end. Try to read the books. Good authors are Henry Ott, Mark Montrose, Eric Bogatin, Howard Johnson and other. There are some different approach to grounding, for example star grounding. It is really not easy to chose right grounding and design a good layout.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top