Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

role of assembly language

Status
Not open for further replies.

ccslearner

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello eda board community members , i am a beginner of embedded system i have a question .1)is compulsory to know assembly language for embedded system developer? because the compiler do the job of converting c to assembly level language then why we should know the concept of assembly level language i yhink my question is elementary however i want some brief answers from who are working in these field

In my opinion it's interesting to know at least a bit of assembly, specially if you want to work with not powerfull microcontrollers. Assembly is really good in speed and effectiveness but programming is much more slower and difficult.

So for me if you are not a professionnal looking for super fast programs, access to strange funcions in your micros...etc, it is not really necessary but it is a good idea at least to know a bit just to learn how the microprocessor works.

Back in the 'old days' it was imperative to use assembly language if you wanted optimum performance. I think nowadays compilers have gotten good enough so you don't need assembler. However, as Dreso said, it will probably give you a better understanding of how the underlying hardware actually works.

thank you dreso and barry to clarify my questions now i got idea about why we learn assembly thanks again