Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

rf interfacing using avr atmega8

Status
Not open for further replies.

rishiisme

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
Hi everybody i am new to rf module interfacing (using AVR) and am not being able to implement it,Can anyone please suggest some solutions or guide me on how to make it work.

Circuit info
avr tx to transmitter module(433mhz)
receiver module to rx pin

i dont know what changes to make and really need a lot of help here, been stuck for days......
 

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,821
Helped
2,350
Reputation
4,694
Reaction score
2,272
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,360
Checkout the EDABoard group:

Embedded Wireless Networks

SubGHz/RF TX/RX Project Oriented Website Recommendations

I have already posted several links to RF TX/RX projects and more are being posted daily.

If you still need help, just let me know.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rishiisme

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
is it really necessary to use external crystals on xtal or can we use the internal ??? also is it required to invert the tx and rx pins
 

ctownsend

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
575
Helped
93
Reputation
188
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Canada
Activity points
3,681
Download this file. Its all there.

AVR Freaks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rishiisme

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
i have written my own coded transmission protocol (manchester) it is working perfectly with wires. i made sure there are no continues 1s or 0s. can i, now ,send the output directly into the tx module's data pin??
 

rishiisme

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
connections r fine but still not working receiving 0x00 all the time. baud rate is 1200 bps (working for wired though). am i making any conceptual mistakes???
 

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,821
Helped
2,350
Reputation
4,694
Reaction score
2,272
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,360
Hi,

Depending on the TX unit you may need to drive the input with a transistor.

I just posted a three part tutorial on RF TX/RX module interfacing with MCU:

RF Communication Between Microcontrollers

in the Embedded Wireless Networks Group

Check the tutorial out and I'll see what else I can think of.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rishiisme

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,318
the thing is i am not using UART i made my own protocol which works perfectly with wires
Basic idea - baudrate either 2400
1)idle bit =0
2)start bit 1
3)manchester coding
connections
MCU1 MCU2
pin D3 -> rf-tx -> antenna antenna->rf-rx->pin D3(pulled down input mode)
it works for wired this way using the pull down resistor
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top