Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RF/Analog Layout Course - your opinion plz.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sahmednc0

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
analogue rf layout

Hi all,

I am currently developing a comprehensive RF/mixed signal layout course, mainly targeting either entry level layout engineers or people who could use a refresher course. I would love to get some feedback from you - do you think this would be useful, what contents would you like to see in such a course?

Very briefly, for the last 6 years, I have been doing mainly RF layout (some digital too) and for 4 years before that I did place and route and CAD work. My undergrad was in Electrical engineering. I am going back to school full time starting this Fall. And I thought perhaps I could teach a layout course.

So for the contents, here is a very brief outline for a 3 day course:

Day One: Basic device physics - PN junction, MOS cap, MOS devices
Basic Fabrication steps in a modern CMOS process.
MOS device cross section, basic operation of MOS
Passive circuit elements, ohm's law, calculating resistance, cap etc.
Current carrying capability calculation, IR drop estimate etc.

Day two, and three:
Layout of active and passive circuit elements.
Schematic issues.
RF/Analog Layout issues (Matching, electromigration etc)
Matching techniques for MOS, Cap, Resistors.
Noise reduction in layout
Good layout practices
Verification tips.
Parasitic extraction
Digital place and route concepts.
Intro to perl scripting (if time permits)
Tapeout issues.