Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RESET on FPGA! Where is ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

speedman

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
fpga reset

Hi all,

I'm new in FPGA and I bought a stater kit with spartan3.

There are many example to understand fpga but all of this are with external reset connect to the button.

So, my question : If I implement my design (State machine, Micro .....) who reset my HW. Clock is internal or external, but the reset ?

I've read on use of sync reset that is the best choice, but who generate it ?

I don't know....:|

all about reset on fpga

The reset signal is normally an input to the FPGA. How that is generated is completely up to you as a designer.

r.b.

fpga soft reset

speedman said:
Hi all,

I'm new in FPGA and I bought a stater kit with spartan3.

There are many example to understand fpga but all of this are with external reset connect to the button.

So, my question : If I implement my design (State machine, Micro .....) who reset my HW. Clock is internal or external, but the reset ?

I've read on use of sync reset that is the best choice, but who generate it ?

I don't know....:|

Download the datasheet/reference manual of the board, they normally build a reset button with built-in debounce on it, and you can just use for the reset signal on the example designs without any special sync-reset.

reset in fpga

I 've sarched on datasheet and only phrase on reset is :

"In some applications, the BTN_SOUTH push-button switch is also a soft reset that
selectively resets functions within the FPGA."