Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Request of Advise for FPGA and CPLD

Status
Not open for further replies.

atmaca

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hii all,

Im a newbie on FPGA and CPLD .

And I want to learn these subjects.

Can you advise me a way of begining, and advancing.

Thank you very much,

Do you intent to use either one technology?

If yes (and I believe so ;o) then the best way is to get a cheap CPLD or FPGA evaluation kit which has some LEDs and buttons (or more fancy features like PS2, VGA etc).

The way I started was with the Cypress software which came with a VHDL book...but that was quite some years ago (o;

For the evaluation board it is best if you look at the manufacturers website what they have listed...assuming you´re going with either Xilinx or Altera...also Xess has some nice FPGA boards which are rather cheap (www.xess.com).

For the design entry itself you have to decide which way is best for you...either some nice high-level language like VHDL or Verilog or doing the schematic entry way. Schematic entry might be reasonable for a start if you´re already familiar with generic TTL logic devices since most tools already contain TTL libraries...

LBNL: Keep reading this forum and search for CPLD/FPGA topics or the used languages...

Maybe something might work for you as it did for me (o;

You can maybe ask your distributor if they have some older CPLD/FPGA kits which are not officially supported anymore but the chips are still available...like the Altera APEX family for instance...

You might end up having an FPGA kit for free (o;