Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Quick Help: 50 Ohm Termination

Status
Not open for further replies.

infinite_gbps

Member level 3
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
59
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,804
Hi,

I have a pulse generator that only does 50 ohm out and a switch circuit that has an high impedance input. I see that this is a problem but would like to know how to have a quick fix.

Is it possible just to have a 50 ohm resistor to ground at the input? If not then what do I do?

Thanks!
 

varuniyengar

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
107
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,743
You need to have a impedance matching circuit!!
 

eagle5

Member level 3
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
55
Helped
29
Reputation
58
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Mediterranean
Activity points
1,547
You can locate an additional shunt resistor of 50 ohm at the switch circuit input.
 

biff44

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
4,852
Helped
1,354
Reputation
2,704
Reaction score
1,035
Trophy points
1,393
Location
New England, USA
Activity points
36,625
You can locate an additional shunt resistor of 50 ohm at the switch circuit input.
...as long as the voltage is still high enough to triger the switch, otherwise leave the 50 ohm load off and keep the cable between the two short.
 
  • Like
Reactions: eagle5

    eagle5

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,944
Helped
1,498
Reputation
2,994
Reaction score
1,339
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
29,814
If you terminate with a simply 50 Ohm, there won't be a reflection..
Use coaxial cable and make the ground connections well..
 

starsunmoon

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,403
Depending on your signal frequency and bandwidth, you could just use a simple 50 ohm termination (for simple demand), or need extra 50 ohm connection as well, or even more complicated - a custom-designed impedance matching path door-to-door.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top