Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions on the top-down analog design flow

Status
Not open for further replies.

hdmi

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
basic analog design questions

I was an OK digital designer with very little analog design experience, and I am always very curious to understand a complete analog design flow. From reading some analog textbook and from reading this board regularly, I came up with my own understanding of the top-down analog design flow and hope all of you can help to point out what is missing, what is incorrect or where to get more help. Thank you in advance.

The Top-Down Analog/Mixed-Signal Design Flow (of my understanding)

1. System Level Simulation with System Spec
a. Not clear what the System Spec looks like though.
b. Tool used in this level: Matlab, C, others?

2. Break Down to block level with block level spec
a. Tool used in this level: Matlab, manual, spreadsheet, etc.
b. Again, not clear what the block level spec looks like though?
c. Not clear where to stop going down further before choosing the topology (next step). My understanding is to stop at Opamp (all sorts) level, what are other parallel analog blocks, for example, is bandgap reference considered to be at the same level?

3. Pick and choose the ckt topology for each block and enter into the schematic capture tools.
a. Tools used in this step: schematic entry, for example, composer.