Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions about VHDL-AMS language

Status
Not open for further replies.

electronics_sky

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi there,

I am new to VHDL-AMS. I would need to use VHDL-AMS to do system modeling. I have some queries about this language as below, please kindly provide any relevant informatons accordingly, thanks in advance.

1. I am trying to use VHDL-AMS to do Mixed-Signal behavioral modeling for IC block. My target is to produce some behavioral blocks which will help to speed up total simulation time during LSI design. Anyone please provides any comment about WHY VHDL-AMS would provide faster simulation speed compare to SPICE and other modeling techniques? and HOW to achieve it? What are the major concerns in this area?

2. I am planning to use ADVanceMS from Mentor Graphics to design my blocks. Please comment about the performance of ADVanceMS compare to other tools (e.g.: Cadence AMS designer, Dolphin SMASH, Synopsis Saber and etc)?

3. Currently in which industry VHDL-AMS is widely used?

4. Which companies in the world (except EDA vendor) are really putting resources to develop their design by using this language?

5. What are the career prospect for one`s who are well-versed with VHDL-AMS?

6. What are the main differences between VHDL-AMS and Verilog-AMS? Which one is more powerful and more popular?

Any comment is welcome. Thanks

vhdl ams operators