Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

question on double extraction issue in RF mos

Status
Not open for further replies.

snaildr

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All

I'm a graduate student new to circuits. Recently I've been working on a CMOS tapeout using TSMC 65nm RF CMOS process and ran into an issue with the foundry RF MOSFETs. After spending some time debugging I'm still puzzled. I'd really appreciate your input. I currently left some of the numbers in this posting as "X" for confidentiality reasons, but I'd love to share them and also some screenshots via message, if you have the access to the PDK.

I was trying to design a traveling-wave amplifier, using foundry RF mosfet and HFSS simulated transmission lines. I found that post-layout simulation showed significant bandwidth degradation compared to schematic simulation (BW dropped from 71GHz to 46GHz). I was able to locate that the main problem is the parasitics from the RF mos (nmos_rf), because when I did a "skeleton" extraction by keeping everything in the layout but the nmos_rf, the bandwidth reached 64GHz.