Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about RJs and network cables

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hooda

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
56
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,706
Network Cable

hi
i made a home network .for making RJ 's the network cables
1)does it differs in the colors of the 8 wires in the Network cable to connect between the 2 RJ of the terminals ..?
2)for example , orange is wire no.1 should be no.1 in the second terminal of the Cable?
thanks in advance
 

gdaporta

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
87
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Argentina
Activity points
1,943
Re: Network Cable

Hooda said:
hi
i made a home network .for making RJ 's the network cables
1)does it differs in the colors of the 8 wires in the Network cable to connect between the 2 RJ of the terminals ..?
2)for example , orange is wire no.1 should be no.1 in the second terminal of the Cable?
thanks in advance

Hooda:
Exists two EIA/TIA specifications, EIA/TIA 568-A and EIA/TIA 568-B. If are going to connect only two PC without a Hub or Switch, you have to make a Crossover cable.

You can make the cable following by this diagram:

PIN---- RJ-45 (1)-----------RJ-45 (2)
-1------White/Orange------White/Green
-2------Orange--------------Green
-3------White/Green--------White/Orange
-4------Blue------------------Blue
-5------White/Blue----------White/Blue
-6------Green----------------Orange
-7------White/Brown--------White/Brown
-8------Brown----------------Brown

Best R.

Guille

Added after 17 minutes:

Hooda:

I found two documents in my PC, one is useful to know what kind of cable you need for each app. And the other is an image, on it, you have the front seen of female RJ connectors and specs.

Best R. again.

Guille
 

    Hooda

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Hooda

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
56
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,706
Re: Network Cable

thanks alot this table is illustrative
Excuse me for trivial Question :?:
in cross over are the 2 terminals are identical ..?i.e. can i alternate both terminals from Router to PC or ViceVersa
thanks ; regards
 

Cluricaun

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 28, 2001
Messages
627
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,315
Re: Network Cable

Hi

If you like to make a crossover cable from an ordinary one you only change at one side. What you are after is to change so the Tx at one side will be a Rx forthe other computer.

Whas this what you asked for?

Cl
 

    Hooda

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ehsanelahimirza

Full Member level 6
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
336
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,567
Re: Network Cable

cross cable can b used for peer to peer connection i.e. 1 pc directly connected to 2nd

but if u want to use a networking HUB also then dont bother about cross/straight
u should prefer straight then i.e. if orange is first then it is first in each case same 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 wire also
 

    Hooda

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Hooda

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
56
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,706
Re: Network Cable

thanks alot your replies answered me
but can anyone till me what is the need for crossover ..? what does it make ..?
my little knowledge that cable has 4 pairs for data transfer why crossovering them ..?
 

Cluricaun

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 28, 2001
Messages
627
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,315
Re: Network Cable

Hi

read my post and you find the answer. If you do not change this the computer will try to eceive on a cable that the other PC also listens to.

Cluricaun said:
Hi

What you are after is to change so the Tx at one side will be a Rx for the other computer.

Whas this what you asked for?

Cl
 

Anno

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
106
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
South Africa
Activity points
1,899
Network Cable

woot gdaporta
Great post! hope you got a few points for that one!
 

gdaporta

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
87
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Argentina
Activity points
1,943
Re: Network Cable

Thank´s Anno for your reply and thank´s Hooda for you "Helped point".

I just want to help. I hope you solve your problem.

Hooda wrote: "...in cross over are the 2 terminals are identical..."

Yes, Ethernet 10-BaseT and 100-BaseT do not use pins 4, 5, 7 and 8. You can test it, make you cable only with pins 1, 2, 3 and 6. It must works fine. But it´s recommended to use al the wires.

Best R.

Guille
 

    Hooda

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top