Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about power supply failures

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeremygb

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Not sure if this post is in the correct category.

I am a data center technician and I routinely deal with hot swappable power supplies in servers. This is what I see happen. The server's hardware monitoring processor will send out an alert for a failed power supply. The amber warning light on the power supply will be on and the event log will indicate a failed power supply. All very normal sequence of events. One thing the I am curious about is after re-seating the power supply, it will come back on with the green status light and continue working. This will only last anywhere from 2 to 8 hours when it will fail again. Re-seating the power supply again yields the same behavior. This will happen with almost every power supply failure that I have encountered.

I get that from a computer hardware perspective that the monitoring system detects a pre-defined failure condition and takes the appropriate action. The re-seating of the powers supply somehow clears this failure condition. Can someone tell me what is happening here from an electronics perspective to cause the power supply to get a temporary second wind after being re-seated?

Thanks for looking.

Jeremy

When you say "reseating" do you REALLY mean removing power from the power supply and then reapplying power? Removing power could clear the failure.