Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about my project, Impedance matching and ADS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mahiou

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Helloo everyone

I am a student doing Electronics, in my final year, my project is about designing an impedance matching circuit and a feed network for next gen communications systems

I am using the ADS suite, and I want to start with designing the impedance matching circuit
Now, i have a slight idea of what I am going to do:
My circuit needs to work with different frequencies. 3g, wifi, and 4g, and it has to match the impedance at these different frequencies using switches

The questions I cant find answers for are:
1. I realize the impedance of the antenna changes when the frequency changes. Is there a formula that relates the antenna's impedance to frequency ?

2. Are all the antenna modeled in the same way, i mean in terms of impedance and size, or is every antenna different?
I mean in my case, is there a standard antenna model that i will use, or do i need to speak with my supervisor and he picks a model for me ?

3. I would really appreciate it if someone showed me a link or a tutorial about how I can design a an impedance matching circuit in ADS.. I do understand the concept of the matching circuit. But i looked at ADS, and I cant find the components i am looking for
Like... for example. An antenna..
also, please, how do i simulate the antenna's impedance using ADS while changing frequency ?

I did look at google, and I looked at ads webpage. For a start I have no idea what i am loooking for because I never did Rf before