Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Question about constructing cavity in HFSS design

Status
Not open for further replies.

anglerep

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,380
piezoloelectric hfss

Hi, everyone:
I need to construct a cavity in my HFSS design. I did it by creating two boxes: one big and one small, and then substract the small box from the big box. My question is: since the cavity is a part of the resonator, should I put in an air box (the same size as the small box) to simulate there is air inside the cavity?
BTW what's the recommend memory size for HFSS simulation, mine is 512MB, it takes a long time to do a simulation.

Thanks,
 

ananth

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
113
Helped
56
Reputation
112
Reaction score
43
Trophy points
1,308
Location
India
Activity points
815
piezoelectric hfss

Hey anglerep,
I don't think u need to put an airbox in your cavity.. U could probably give it a try and see if it makes a difference in your results.. but I wouldn't think u'll need it.
As far as memory goes, the more the better but u shud be able to handle things well with 512 MB of RAM.

Ananth.
 

hamidmoghaddas

Member level 1
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
40
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,583
hfss fbar

hi
1024 MB is ok
a real resonator has air inside. so include it.
 

anglerep

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
10
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,380
piezoelectric hsff

Actually I'm not quite sure this structure I am building can use HFSS to simulate. If you are familiar with FBAR (it's a bulk resonator) You will understand better this situation. Basicly I need to have a piezoelectric material with certain thickness, and two electrodes, one on the top of the piezoelectric material, and one at the bottom. Under the bottom electrode metal locates this cavity. When input RF signal comes, the piezoelectric material will vibrate and with the help of the cavity it will resonant at certain frequency. I am designing the structure so that the resonance happens at about 2GHz. I cannot figure out how to input the piezoelectric material property into HFSS, or is it possible? or is there any way I can get around it? Or any other software can do this job? Any advice is appreciated.

Ang.
 

Carleone

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,290
Re: cavity in HFSS

Hi there!Most people use Ansys to simulate the FBAR for electromechanical simulations .I would also be interested in finding out about any HFSS FBAR simulations.Please send me a mail if you discovered stg.
 

lynne

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
Re: cavity in HFSS

you can set the small box use you desire material
then use the boolean --substract ,but remmber checking the clone the two object before substact ,then you can have maitained the cacity attribute and needn't set the cavity with air
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top