Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Quantum Physics requirement for an electronics engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarun0xe

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello friends, i am an electronics engineering student. i will have to study quantum physics in my coming semester and which will be followed by a solid state physics course and then may be with some semiconductor course too.so what i want to know is some good book on quantum physics which will make me capable to go through my future courses(i mentioned) with out any difficulty.
a friend suggested to go through a number of books on quantum mechanics and in a following order:
1) Intro to Quantum Mech. by David J Griffiths
2) Principles of Q M by R Shankar
3) Modern Quan Mech by J J Sakurai

only then i can understand some good book on solid state physics. however what i want to know in this is DO ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS ALSO NEED THAT MUCH QUANTUM?? or the suggested path is for some student going to be a physicist.....please tell me frankly. and if electronics engineers do need that much quantum i too will surely go through above text and please also suggest any other books that you think are better than above......thanks in advance