Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

QAM demapping to LDPC decoder

Status
Not open for further replies.

davyzhu

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
494
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
oriental
Activity points
4,436
soft bits demapping

Hi all,

LDPC decoder use soft information. But how to get the soft information from QAM?

BTW, DVB-S2 use ASK demapping, is it suitable for soft information demapping?

Best regards,
Davy
 

dervisakyuz

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
23
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,490
haykin is the solution of ur answer
 

spweda

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
184
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,261
QAM soft demapping is independent to the channel coding (LDPC Viterbi, Turbo). The best performance is LLR, using the max-log approximation, the LLR is equivalent to the slicer as the classical hard decision boundary, the only difference is that more quatization levels are used for soft demapping.
 

m_llaa

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
227
Helped
44
Reputation
88
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
My Love Iran
Activity points
2,558
Hi davyzhu
Your question is attractive. I am waiting for good reply. If you find your answer, please share it.
 

davyzhu

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
494
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
oriental
Activity points
4,436
Hi m-llaa,

I have a post before about a LDPC simulation environment. You can search it in this forum.

The environment contains the soft decoding algorithm.

Best regards,
Davy
 

m_llaa

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
227
Helped
44
Reputation
88
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
My Love Iran
Activity points
2,558
Hi davyzhu
"But how to get the soft information from QAM?"
This question is interesting for me.
I know the best decoder like BP for LDPC uses soft information in each bit. But what happen when we use modulation like QAM? Is it possible to make the decoder better?
 

mar-cas1

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,402
Hi:

The QAM modulator receives the information from the channel and asume it is afected by noise. So for example if we use 4QAM, the symbols used to modulate the signals are +1,-1 for the I-channel and +1,-1 for the Q-channel. After the channel, we have the symbolos plus noise, so for example if +1 was Tx, we may receive 0.5456. We know that an error happens when we get a sign change i.ex -0.123. The key in soft demodulatipon (not soft decoding) is to pass to the decoder a quantization of the effect of the channel. If we use 3 bits quantization (with MSB for the sign) we get four levels of representation. That is:

00 ---- (for signals between 0 and 0.25)
01 ---- (for signals between 0.25 and 0.5)
10 ---- (for signals between 0.5 and 0.75)
11 ---- (for signals between 0.75 and 1)

and the third bit indicates if the symbol represents a one or a cero (used for hard decision). For 4QAM it is easy see that a greater magnitude on the symbol will not cause an error but for 16QAM the thing will go different.

I hope that can help you get started.

Mario
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top