Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Pull-Up Pull-Down - please explain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Free_Will

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 6, 2002
Messages
65
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
581
Pull-Up Pull-Down

Can anyone explain the Pull-Up and Pull-Down phenomenon? Especially
if we are using microcontrollers or logic elements.
I mean in which situations can we use them?Can you give an example
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,801
Helped
1,453
Reputation
2,904
Reaction score
1,308
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,984
Re: Pull-Up Pull-Down

Free_Will said:
Can anyone explain the Pull-Up and Pull-Down phenomenon? Especially
if we are using microcontrollers or logic elements.
I mean in which situations can we use them?Can you give an example
In the case of using " open collector " logic circuits , you have to use pull-up or when you need to pull down a input to logic 0 level.
Be careful , pull-up or pull-down resistors can not be selected arbitary .
You have to consider input and output capacitance values of the circuit to be concerned.
Good Luck..
 

bunalmis

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
268
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Ireland
Activity points
2,147
Re: Pull-Up Pull-Down

All unused logic inputs must be tie appropriate logic level.

For this purpose we can use resistors.

Pullup resistor connected from input to vcc.
Pulldown resistor connected from input to gnd.

Forexample if you have and gate but if you want only one inputs.
You must use pullup resistor for unused input.
Your sistem dont work If you use pulldown resistor. Becouse logic 0 level
inhibit the output.
 

j_o_n_i

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
26
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Between Apenines and Balcans
Activity points
210
when you have an IC with open collector output its output can switch between two states LOW (it can sink a specified amount of current) and
Hi-Z -> it acts like it wasn't connected at all, that means it has no effect on the output. If you are interested of having a logic HIGH state instead you have to add a pull-up resistor with one terminal connected to the IC output and the other to Vcc.

regards
 

turttle

Member level 2
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
44
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
336
If you have true Tri-state logic (H+L+Z) ie in bus transceivers were both pull-up or pull-down could be used to prevent floating inputs, pull-up is the prefered solution because of noise margin in TTL compatible circuitry is larger in H state than in L (that's one of the reasons for many "active low" inputs ;-) )

Cheers ;-)
 

year

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
62
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
441
You nay know rising and falling speed in high speed logic.

It is another point of this issue....
 

PigiPigi

Member level 2
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
43
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
271
Pull Up is a technique. In this manner ic vendors make an output driver (typically a BJT transistor) with out any load. User select a good load and VCC as he want.
 

PigiPigi

Member level 2
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
43
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
271
Oh! Excuse me!
Pull down is same is pull up, but output transistor is PNP (PMOS).
 

EEHardware

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
105
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
719
Pull-Up Pull-Down

you can search this in google, it has many information.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top