Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pspice user defined functions

Status
Not open for further replies.

sabu31

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
302
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,972
Hi

I am a beginer in PSPICe. I would like to know if its possible to define user defined functions to be used along with power electronic circuits(as in case of matlab) . Any references would be helpful. Also i wanted to know if its possible to implement a solar panel in pspice(either as a lookup table of I-V characteristics or physical model)
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,383
Helped
14,434
Reputation
29,132
Reaction score
13,222
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
284,237
Subcircuits and behavioral models are flexible methods to implement user defined circuit functions.

A solar panel can be basically modelled in SPICE simulators by junction diodes and current sources.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sabu31

    sabu31

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

atripathi

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
452
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,318
Location
INDIA
Activity points
3,818
You can use controlled sources to model V-I relation based on table. Since you want to model V-I relation you can go for Voltage controller current source.
PSpice supports all four types of controlled sources V-V, V-I, I-I, I-V

You can find these symbols in ABM library. GTABLE is symbol for Table based Voltage controlled current source.
Hope this helps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sabu31

    sabu31

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

sabu31

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
302
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,972
Hi
Thanks atripathi. That was exactly what i was looking for.

I also wanted to know just how to we search for these things (say Gtable ) and know how it functions. Because in Matlab environment , i am able to just type the name of function block and help specific for that block and how its used is shown. Is there such type of help in Orcad- cadence. For example, is there any help in cadence which shows how to use Gtable. Any reference would be helpful. Thanks
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,383
Helped
14,434
Reputation
29,132
Reaction score
13,222
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
284,237
It's described in detail in the PSPICE reference guide, a pdf document.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sabu31

    sabu31

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

atripathi

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
452
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,318
Location
INDIA
Activity points
3,818
Thanks FvM,
Yes this is defined in PSpice reference guide. You can find the complete pdf in your installation <InstalDir>/doc/pspcref/pspcref.pdf . You can also access the Cadence Online help interface and search for GTABLE.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sabu31

    sabu31

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top