Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Project] Automatic randomly timed MX start: problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Llama16

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,

If this is the wrong forum: apologies, but I couldn't find a more appropriate one.

I did my bachelor in electrical engineering, but now master in a different engineering field. they once let us play with a PIC microchip, and only changing some variables in a premade template. Years later, I decided to start programming a PIC16F690 for a personal project. I've been busy for days trying to figure everything out. So pls don't shoot me when asking stupid questions. This is a 'from zero' beginner.

OBJECTIVE:
This might turn into a build thread later on. Thing is, I do motorcross and I would like to build a automatic startgate.
The working of the gate has to be the following: set up manually. Once on bike press a button on a remote, this triggers a 10 second red warning light on the startgate. Once the 10 seconds are up, a red light flickers for 5 seconds followed by a 1 sec buzzer and after that the gate gets dropped (with a 9V solenoid pushing (for 1 second) the release) between 3 and 6 seconds RANDOMLY after the flickering light.

I've already programmed the PIC with a pickit 2, it simulated perfectly. Oscillator is set correctly, registers should be correct,... Point is, on the computer it works. But this has to transfer to hardware :(.
I've used MPLAB with XC8 compiler and wrote it in C. A review is always welcome :D. **broken link removed** or attachment