Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

programming zigbee modules and various zigbee modules

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevasway

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
maxstream.com

Hi,
anyone can help me about ZigBee?

I'm developing an application with the full ZStack (chipset Freescale), but Figure8Wireless doesn't provide any tutorial and How-to for programming.

Bye
Stevasway
 

Prasanna Kumar

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 30, 2004
Messages
58
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
686
zigbee loose data

Zigbee is almost equal to WLAN 802.11 except few considerations, and packages. and it also has a few concepts of bluetooth.
 

stevasway

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
telegesis pic16f877

Thanks, but I need to kown if anyone has experience with ZStack programming
 

omara007

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,238
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Cairo/Egypt
Activity points
9,747
pic16f877 and zigbee module architecture

Prasanna Kumar said:
Zigbee is almost equal to WLAN 802.11 except few considerations, and packages. and it also has a few concepts of bluetooth.

Sorry to say WRONG .. this is absolutely wrong .. ZigBee has no single common thing with 802.11x .. they are completely 2 different things .. one is WLAN and the other is WPAN ... one is of high data rate .. and the other is low data rate .. even ZigBee doesn't contain a decoder in the PHY layer ..

ZigBee is much much simpler than WLAN .. It took me close to 3 years to complete desiging 802.11a chip with a team of 45 professionals .. and am currently desiging the zigbee with a team of no more than 10 guys (front and back ends) .. and the wholw sweet doesn't take more than a year to tape out
 

eeeraghu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
222
Helped
26
Reputation
50
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,384
max stream zigbee tutorial

Hello Mr. OMARA,

As u r well experienced with wireless protocols, i have few queries regarding this,
First of all how much can i keep the fragment threshold values? As i am using AMBA Bus as LLC layer so i am keeping the threshold value to 2048bits, is it ok or else any other considerations do i need to make? I would be so kind of u.

Thanks
Raghu
 

dBUGGER

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
108
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Milky Way
Activity points
2,430
file transfer in zigbee

Hi,
What is the processor core used by zigbee controller? What is the bus architecture used ?

Thanks,
 

vinicius

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
20
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,476
can zigbee transfer file

Have u ever seen Maxstream Xbee modules? they are full implemented Zigbee modules controlled by AT commands, it could be useful with u need a faster time-to-market, the problem can be the price....
 

tjalps

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
240
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
SLOVENIA
Activity points
1,994
uart communication for telegesis zigbee module

Hello!

Do you have any info regarding Xbee products from MaxStream?

Best regards!
 

emanuelcsm

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
61
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Brasil
Activity points
1,801
maxstream + x ctu + zigbee

ZeRoN said:
Hello,

You can get XBee product info from h**p://www.maxstream.net/

Regards.

Hi, I'm here to say about the XBee, it is a 802.15.4 full implemented, but I had have a lot of problems with the low data rate what is possible with the Maxstream XBee, only 19200bps.

So be carefull if u r thinking to use the XBee. I wasn't so I loose a lot of developping time, case this detale is not comented on datasheet.

.
 

omara007

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,238
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Cairo/Egypt
Activity points
9,747
using pic16f877a with maxstream zigbee

How come the data rate is like this while it's in the IEEE standard !
 

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
x-ctu telegesis

I'm using XBee/XBee Pro, 115.2Kbps. is work fine.

tested by X-CTU, Range Test with loop-backed.
(follow MaxStream's Wireless Development Kit)
 

emanuelcsm

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
61
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Brasil
Activity points
1,801
xbee at 115200

ZeRoN said:
I'm using XBee/XBee Pro, 115.2Kbps. is work fine.

tested by X-CTU, Range Test with loop-backed.
(follow MaxStream's Wireless Development Kit)

with the X-CTU, sending litle packets I can comunicate at 115200 too, but in my application I have to transfer files from a stand alone equipament to a PC, and this files are around 1MB. At 115200 the XBee lose a lot of packets, so the real data rate is less than at 19200, case at 19200 I don't loose any packet.

I talked to Jhon Shwartz ( MaxStream Thecnical Suport) and him sad me that the XBee comunicate at 250Kbps how is sad in DataSheet, but this data rate is only on air, and in the uart the maximum data rate where I don't loose packets is 19200.

If u want, make a program that only sand packets, like the X-CTU, but send 70 bytes in the packet, and put a CRC in your packet, then count the error numbers, u will see that at 115200 the XBee will loose a lot of packets.

...
 

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
pc to pc transfer using zigbee

Yes, I'm using little packet size in my application.

If I've to transfer big file(s) size, I should be use 115.2Kbps., then split file(s) to multiple packets (little size) with simple protocol.

I think this may faster than use 19200bps. one direction.

Sorry, just my idea. I didn't use in this case.
 

omore

Member level 4
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
77
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Argentina
Activity points
2,025
telegesis x-ctu

Do you know other manufacturers of ZigBee modules ready to use like Maxstream.
TKS
 

bercam

Member level 3
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Messages
55
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
University of Cantabria - SPAIN
Activity points
359
x-ctu+zigbee+atnd

I'm using a Xbee module working standalone in a simple board. Surprisingly I've detected too high current consumption in my board (53mAmps) even when Xbee are in Idle mode.

I think there are any wrong in this module.

Any idea to respect??

Thanks a lot in advance!!!
 

sss123

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,357
Re: ZigBee

Hi:

Where to find any other zigbee manufacturer products other than
vvv.maxstream.com
 

sss123

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,357
Re: ZigBee

Thanks omore!
 

dav3

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,300
Re: ZigBee

I'm doing project on the XBee. i'm building my own board to transmit and received data another Xbee Board. The XBee is connected with PIC16F877A/PIC18F452. Since the board is not connected to anything (remote), how should i write the programming code to control the UART between the XBee and PIC?

I plan to program the PIC to work with 7 different switches. Example, when i press one of the switch, it will transmit the "ABC" to the XBee and the XBee from remote will transmit the "ABC" to the XBee connected to PC. When the PC detect the "ABC", it will light on the LED or Buzzer on the computer screen.

Any idea on how to program the PIC to send information to XBee?

Thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top