Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Programming with C++ - controlling the PORTs / TRIS

Status
Not open for further replies.

elecTronX

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Programming with C++

Hello ALL,

I am fairly new to PIC programming and currently taking a C++ course. I would love to use C++ to program PICs rather than basic. However, I do not know how to control the PORTs like PicBasic. Or how to control the TRIS. How would one go about learning this basic task? Is there a web site or any books up for referral that anyone can refer for easy reading and fast learning? I am interested to dive right in and get the pure understanding of how to fuse C++ with PIC programming of MCU so please feel welcome to leave any advice you deem pertinent to the topic.

Thank you all in advance for your warm welcome and informative feedback to my inquiry.

Just use C for PIC's. Use HiTech or CCS compiler and mplab. C++ is realy designed for very large software programs where memory is not a big problem.

Re: Programming with C++

Yes, you should use C and not C++.
A quick but pretty good reference for C can be found here:
**broken link removed**

Examples can be found here:
https://www.microchipc.com/sourcecode/

Antharax

If you find C++ more familiar to you then you might find useful to learn object oriented programming techniques in C.

I have attached the book Object Oriented Programming With C that contains that info.

Regard, mikasi

Antharax said:
A quick but pretty good reference for C can be found here:
**broken link removed**
The link is dead.