Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Program for converting Matlab code to VHDL

Status
Not open for further replies.

zzoorroo

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
53
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
egypt
Activity points
1,588
hi
i need a program to convert a Matlab code (gui) to Vhdl.....
hope for replay...
 

zzoorroo

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
53
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
egypt
Activity points
1,588
matlab hdl

hi
i don't mention simulink
i have heared that there is a program convert a Matlab program to aVHDL
can you upload it or tell me where i can download this program....
 

zzoorroo

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
53
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
egypt
Activity points
1,588
vhdl matlab

hi
all this time and i have no answer .!!!!!!!!!!
i really need a program convert matlab code to vhdl code
where i can find that program
 

eltonjohn

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
1,435
Helped
64
Reputation
126
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
16,326
matlab hdl coder

I gave you the answer to convert from matlab language to VHDL there is only one program Acceldsp ..There is no other !.But don't go THINKING that it will convert every MATLAB FUNCTION there is ..the reason is some matlab callable functions are not written in matlab language ,but for speed purposes are optimized in native machine language ..So there is no POSIBILITY of recovering that CODE !
 

zzoorroo

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
53
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
egypt
Activity points
1,588
matlab and vhdl

hi
thanks for interest.....
but where can i find this program !!!!!!! "Acceldsp"
hope you can give me the exact location of this program..
thanks
 

anl_444

Newbie level 3
Joined
Sep 6, 2005
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,297
vhdl to matlab

I think AccelDSP is not an enough solution for complex .m files. You should model your algorithm in a signal flow diagram manner and then try to write your own VHDL code for each block in your diagram. Then verify with ModelSim simulator or any other simulation tool then verify the results by comparing with Matlab output. This is what i am doing now. :( It seems time consuming but i have tried too many ways. If anyone has a better idea i want to now.

Regards
 

ashishkel

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
44
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
1,620
octave matlab vhdl

There are two tools in my knowledge that can convert MATLAB code to VHDL.
(1) AccelDSP (From Xilinx)
(2) System generator
Here AccelDSp comes from Xilinx and its a very costly software. U can request for a 30 day evaluation product from www.Xilinx.com
Xilinx System generator Does not exactly convert Matlab code , it convert only Xilinx blockset based desgn to VHDL or bitstream, Again the trial version available from Xilinx.com

Other vendors must be providing their tools, Please search the internet for details reg that.

Link to ModelSim is for CoSimulation between the Simulink design and the VHDL design blocks. That is my view.
 

amr ezz rashed

Newbie level 2
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
egypt
Activity points
1,290
from matlab to vhdl

in my kownledge you can use matlab hdl coder or search the internet for match compiler that convert matlab code to vhdl or convert matlab to c then use stream c program
 

ashishkel

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
44
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
1,620
hdl matlab

In my humble knowledge, der is no MATLAB hdl coder.
I havent seen one to be more exact. Der are those vendor provided tools like above from diff ppl.

If der is, i wil be happy to knw about it.
 

hananeel

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,307
matlab to hdl

i think there's a trick we can do, we can build our program made in matlab to a c++ native, then export to another program like ALDEC HDL, and convert to VHDL, i think it works better if we convert from c++ to vhdl, than matlab, althought matlab uses C, but not the nativeone... if im wrong please someone !... thats just an idea...:p
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top