Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] problem with using sim800

Status
Not open for further replies.

ultrasonic.1991

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
40
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
373
hi, I want to test a sim 800 header board by connecting it to a USB to TTL module and giving AT commands. I used the LM2596 module for the supply and connected the pins as shown in the picture. It doesn't give any response to AT commands, not even AT. It is noteworthy to mention that the PWR LED on top left is on but the net and stat LEDs only light up every two minutes for a few seconds. Can anyone tell me what is the problem? Did I connect the pins correctly? thanks in advance.



DSC_12583.jpg
 

Attachments


KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,469
Helped
3,946
Reputation
7,890
Reaction score
3,815
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,806
Hi,

Wrong baud rate?
Wrong voltage levels?

We can not verify...

Klaus
 

ultrasonic.1991

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
40
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
373
I checked the voltage with a multimeter it is 4 volts which is correct according to the datasheet. I set the baud rate to 9600.
 

ultrasonic.1991

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
40
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
373
I fixed the problem. I increased the voltage to 4.3 and used single strand wire instead of jumpers and breadboard. Now it's responding to all at commands although the AT+CBC still shows 3.6 for the supply voltage. that's strange.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,469
Helped
3,946
Reputation
7,890
Reaction score
3,815
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,806
Hi,

A photo of your wiring could have shown this....

A breadboard is not useful for:
* high currents
* high frequency
* high precision
* low noise

But besides the breadboard problems you need
* correct wiring scheme
* low length
* thick wires
* sufficient bulk capacitor
...

We even didn't know about a "breadboard".
This is what I've meant with "We can not verify .." ;-)

Maybe next time you just take a photo of the whole circuit.

Klaus
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top