Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with running a program on Spartan 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

somayeh

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,343
hello
I have a problem about programming Xilinx.
I program IC Spartan 2 (xc2s150-5pq208) but my program don't run on hardware at all.
even first test that generated a pulse on a pin. the pin always remain 1
I don't know what problem it is.
please help help help me
 

Iouri

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
682
Helped
87
Reputation
174
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,814
please help

check the power also on the Spartan part, start with something simple project

output <= input;
 

yasser_shoukry

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
233
Helped
25
Reputation
54
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Cairo - Egypt
Activity points
2,749
please help

Check also that your code meets RTL rules. Not any code that runs on a simulator will run on the FPGA. So please if you can send your code such that anybody here can guide you especially if you are beginner in this field.

Good Luck
 

salma ali bakr

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
971
Helped
104
Reputation
206
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
7,491
Re: please help

check the power and make sure that the jtag is plugged in the correct way...
there is usually a program that is already on the chip, which makes sure it's functioning well, a counter that displays on the seven segment display or something that lights leds or so
 

caplash_vlsi

Member level 2
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
45
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,502
Re: please help

i think there is something wrong with ur board itself......do post ur code so that i may check if its right or wrong
 

vs21

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,450
Re: please help

Hi,

Make all unused pins tristated, your program will work.

Regards
vs21
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top