Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with program that toggles portb every second in HI Tech C compiler

Status
Not open for further replies.

annna

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,
I have recently started using PIC with C, but I am having some problems. I was trying to make a first test program that toggles portb every second. The simulation works fine but when I tried it in real world nothing happen. I am a using a JDM programmer and Hi Tech C compiler. Can anyone tell me where I am doing the mistake. Here's the code......

#include<htc.h>

#ifndef _XTAL_FREQ
#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000
#endif

void main(void)
{

TRISB = 0;

while(1)
{
PORTB = 0xFF;
__delay_ms(1000);
PORTB = 0x00;
__delay_ms(1000);

}

}

waiting for your reply..........................

Re: Problem with HI Tech

What is the exact PIC model are you using in your design?

---------- Post added at 22:42 ---------- Previous post was at 22:27 ----------

By the way, have you setup your configuration register correctly, for instance disabled the watchdog timer?

I am using PIC16F877A and yes I disabled it

Your program is fine, therefore the problem must be at the hardware level.