Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Problem with current loss with increasing length of wire

rajaram04

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
861
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
earth
Activity points
7,601
Hello
i am using a 12v 7Ah battery to run a motor with a fan attached to it. Problem is the decrease in speed or say load handling capacity when I am increasing the wire length. I need to run a 7 mtr length of wire but in 5 mtrs only I am facing the problem . . .Normal LED lamps are working at that end but motor is not working . just I feel a bit vibrations there . . I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one . . how to overcome ??
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,108
Helped
4,674
Reputation
9,362
Reaction score
4,414
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
120,567
The only option is to use thicker wires I'm afraid. The voltage drop is caused by the resistance of the wire (Voltage drop = Current * Wire Resistance). As the voltage and current are fixed, you have to reduce the resistance by using heavier grade wires.

Brian.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,260
Helped
3,906
Reputation
7,810
Reaction score
3,777
Trophy points
113
Activity points
114,604
Hi,

You need to understand Ohm´s law.

V = R x I.

The voltage drop is: the wire_resistance x load_current.

Wire resistance is proportional to wire_length and indirect proportional to copper_cross_section.


Klaus
 

wwfeldman

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
644
Helped
162
Reputation
324
Reaction score
155
Trophy points
43
Activity points
4,689
have you tried running the motor with the battery with 25 centimeters of wire?

you have specified the source (12V and 7Ah) what are the requirements of your motor?
nominal voltage and operating current?
start up current?
what gauge wire are you using?

what does "...just I feel a bit vibrations there..." mean?
is the motor vibrating?

you wrote "...I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one..."
what voltage is the low voltage motor? what voltage is the original motor?
 

rajaram04

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
861
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
earth
Activity points
7,601
The only option is to use thicker wires I'm afraid. The voltage drop is caused by the resistance of the wire (Voltage drop = Current * Wire Resistance). As the voltage and current are fixed, you have to reduce the resistance by using heavier grade wires.

Brian.
Ohh ok thanks . . here local shops provide wires on the basis of MM millimeter . . So what should I ask for in that case ? please guide
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,697
Helped
1,423
Reputation
2,844
Reaction score
1,288
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,394
Ohh ok thanks . . here local shops provide wires on the basis of MM millimeter . . So what should I ask for in that case ? please guide
First, you should check the current consumption of the motor then search which copper area ( mm^2) should be used to prevent voltage drops across the cable.
There are tables in the internet that signify the effective copper area vs current consumption for grid voltage.
 

rajaram04

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
861
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
earth
Activity points
7,601
have you tried running the motor with the battery with 25 centimeters of wire?

you have specified the source (12V and 7Ah) what are the requirements of your motor?
nominal voltage and operating current?
start up current?
what gauge wire are you using?

what does "...just I feel a bit vibrations there..." mean?
is the motor vibrating?

you wrote "...I then connected low voltage motors but they are too not working like the original one..."
what voltage is the low voltage motor? what voltage is the original motor?


ya ya firstly it was working with I metre wire very efficiently. Even today I installed the motor in the vicinity of the power source and its working as usual.

and ya the motor seems like it's trying to rotate the shaft or say its try to work with the available parameters. But its too dull to detect.

i connected a 3v motor, a 5v DVD player motor, etc but no response & then also today i tried the same with a 5v relay and issues are again there . . .

- - - Updated - - -

keep doubling up or tripling up the wires .....
ya sure! ll try with that... thanks!

- - - Updated - - -

Hi,

You need to understand Ohm´s law.

V = R x I.

The voltage drop is: the wire_resistance x load_current.

Wire resistance is proportional to wire_length and indirect proportional to copper_cross_section.


Klaus


I see.... Ya as per that let me check the same . . thanks
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top