Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with a voltmeter: the output is not stable

Status
Not open for further replies.

lats

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
217
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,958
Voltmeter

hi
m designing a voltmeter in which i m using pic16f877 (Ref: ). the adc in it is a 10 bit adc.m using it to show the volatge level from 0-1023 volts and 50 hz ac frequency. I have fed and ac input signal and a voltage divider network along with a peak detector having opamp LF353. the problem is that the output is not stable.there is fluctuation in the volatge on the lcd screen whereas there is no fluctuation in power line.m attaching the diagram.

Regards
 

manenef

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
35
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
kenya
Activity points
1,577
Re: Voltmeter

Just check on the sensitivity of your ADC, otherwise in some ADCs just a small noise signal will cause it to register some values!
 

lats

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
217
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,958
Voltmeter

thanks but if adc is sensitivite how to make it correct?m asking that ,i know there is some sensitivity problem but wht and how can it be corrected
 

manenef

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
35
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
kenya
Activity points
1,577
Re: Voltmeter

Some ADs have a pin whereby you can connect a a nulling restistor to reduce sensitivity. Please do chech on the manual of your specific ADC to get infomation on how to reduce sensitivity.
 

lats

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
217
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,958
Voltmeter

As i have mentioned in diagram i'm using PIC1f877's internal ADC, and i can't find such a pin in that, if u have some other solution then tell me.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,435
Re: Voltmeter

If you can, connect 5V from voltage regulator (through 1-10kΩ resistor) directly to the ADC pin and check if the display is stable ..

Next, you can do two things around the peak detector:
- increase the value of the cap from 0.47µF to, say, 2.2-4.7µF (tantalum),
- add R-C filter between the output of the peak detector and ADC (try ≈1kΩ and 22µF tantalum) ..

Regards,
IanP
 

    lats

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

lats

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
217
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,958
Voltmeter

Thanks Ianp for replying. Actually if i take the calculated values of voltage divider resistors, the display shows almost 5-10% less value than actual voltage, if i change the resistors values then it shows correct value but the circuit losses linearity. why is it happening so?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top