Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with a MOVLW in a code for PIC16f627A

Status
Not open for further replies.

noddls

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
MOVLW on PIC16f627A

Hi there,

This is my first post! Im new to microcontrollers. I was able to download a file and modify the way i want it using PIC16F84A. I got excited so I decided to buy another 16f84 for a new program but there's no stock of this PIC to where I used to buy it, so i ended up uying PIC16F627A (that's the only available). I know that PIC16f627 has more functions than PIC16F84 so i decided to test first if i could directly port the working program i made for PIC16F4A.
At first I cant make an output to PORTA, then i read the DATAsheet and found that comparator should first be disabled. so I did it.
I am using the MPLAB for simulation, and strange as it seem that i am not able to load to the my designated register the value of W. Is there anything I am missing? Here is the code
clrf PORTA
movlw 07h ;++++INITIALIZING PORTA++
movwf CMCON ;PORTA AS A REGULAR OUTPUT
; bcf STATUS, RP1
BSF STATUS, RP0
movlw 1Fh ;PLACE IN W
movwf TRISA ;initializiation ends here
movlw b'00000001'
movwf H10
movlw b'00000010'
movwf H1
clrw
on the simulation image i am already at clrw and nothing is loaded to my H1 and H10 variables.
Please help, is there any initialization I should do?
Thanks, i appreaciate any response.

Re: MOVLW on PIC16f627A

Hi,

The reason it does not work is that you have set things to Bank1 for the TRISA statement, but have not returned to Bank0 afterwards.