Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem in using ncelab -generic option

Status
Not open for further replies.

er.akhilkumar

Advanced Member level 4
Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
115
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Noida
Activity points
2,381
I am trying to use ncelab -generic option to pass a generic parameter with value at run time. I0 have been successfull in passing the vaue to a string parameter using the following command:

ncelab -generic "instance_path.string_parameter => \"hello\""

But when I am trying to pass value to parameter of type natural it is not happening. I am using following logic:

ncelab -generic "instance_path.natural_parameter => \"1\""

I have also tried:

ncelab -generic "instance_path.natural_parameter => "1""
ncelab -generic "instance_path.natural_parameter => 1"
ncelab -generic 'instance_path.natural_parameter => "1"'
ncelab -generic 'instance_path.natural_parameter => 1'


But when I am using -defparam option I am successfull in passing value to natural parameter but passing value to string parameter is not happening. I want both works to be done with one option either -defparam or -generic.

Have you got any idea what mistake I am making in doing this? Thanx.
 

poluekt

Full Member level 2
Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
130
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Russia
Activity points
1,813
Option -generic is used for VHDL sources, option -defparam for Verilog sources.
Try use use opotion -gpg, that assign the specified value to all VHDL generics and Verilog parameters with the given name.
Example:
Code:
 -gpg "u1.obj1 => 3"             // Verilog 
-gpg ":i1:i2:u1:obj1 => 4"                // VHDL
For more detailed information use cdnshelp.
 

er.akhilkumar

Advanced Member level 4
Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
115
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Noida
Activity points
2,381
Thanx a lot friend. It worked by using -gpg. I have one more doubt, can we pass value to a parameter of array type by using this option?
I have tried to pass value to an array of integer, but it didn't worked.

-gpg "instance_path.array_parameter => (1,2,3,4,5)"

It doesn't show any error but value is not propagated.
 

poluekt

Full Member level 2
Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
130
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Russia
Activity points
1,813
Help topic doesn't contain information about arrays supporting.
How you declare array in the source code?
 

er.akhilkumar

Advanced Member level 4
Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
115
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Noida
Activity points
2,381
I have given default value to parameter at entity level and at instantiation level. Yes, in help they havn't given any example of -gpg usage for passing value to a parameter of an array type.

Can you please help me in this problem?
 

poluekt

Full Member level 2
Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
130
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Russia
Activity points
1,813
Unfortunately, i use Verilog and my simulator (ies) don't support unpacked arrays constants (parameter bit [1:0] q [2:0] = '{1,2,3};).
 

er.akhilkumar

Advanced Member level 4
Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
115
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Noida
Activity points
2,381
Ok. Anyway thanks for ur great help.

Cheers,
Akhil Kumar
 

er.akhilkumar

Advanced Member level 4
Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
115
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Noida
Activity points
2,381
Hello Poluekt,

While using -gpg option I observed a new problem that if I am using parameterized interface while using -gpg tool is reporting an Internal exception error. Following is the error reported by tool:

ncelab: *F,INTERR: INTERNAL EXCEPTION
-----------------------------------------------------------------
The tool has encountered an unexpected condition and must exit.
Contact Cadence Design Systems customer support about this
problem and provide enough information to help us reproduce it,
including the logfile that contains this error message.
TOOL: ncelab 09.20-s038
HOSTNAME: emmchma056
OPERATING SYSTEM: Linux 2.6.9-67.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed Nov 7 13:58:04 EST 2007 i686
MESSAGE: xst_immediate_scope - default
-----------------------------------------------------------------
csi-ncelab - CSI TRIAL: Cadence Support Investigation, sending details to ncelab.err
csi-ncelab - CSI TRIAL: investigation complete, send ncelab.err to Cadence Support


If I am using -gpg without using parameterized interface it is working fine.

One more thing after observing this problem I retried using -defparam option, value of parameter at testbench top is set but the value propagated to the RTL is the default value of parameter.
Can you please help?

Thanx
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top