Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

problem in switching relay with at89c52

Status
Not open for further replies.

pds333

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new to 8051 and want to use relay for switching light and 24VDC motor. When I switch on the circuit relay started automatically some times. Here is my circuit.

https://obrazki.elektroda.pl/75_1269424086.jpg

Resistors - 10K, Transistor - bc547, diode - 1n4007

almost in 1 or 2 second the top most relay is getting on and after some seconds it will go off.

source code is in C. I am giving input from switch on port 0. When I am not giving 230V and 24V DC supply in contact of relay, then circuit is working fine. But with load in contact of relay, It is behaving randomly.

no complete isolation will result micro controller hang.

Added after 2 minutes:

you have to change your circuit you should use optocoupler instead transistor.

yes we can change the circuit, as I have another problem with this circuit.

This is due to all the pins going high for the duration of the power up reset period, this will also happen with a soft reset. This a is a very common problem. There are a couple of solutions, one is to use an RC delay on the base of the driver transistor. A better way is to use inverted or active low logic, you will need a couple of transistors and a few resistors, or you can use part of a ULN2003A darlington driver as follows.

Pin 8 to ground
Pin 9 to 24v
Connect 10K resistor from pin 1 to 5V
Connect 10K resistor from pin 16 to 24V
Connect pin 2 to pin 16
Input from MCU is to pin 1