Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Usage Question for LM628

Status
Not open for further replies.

Burner1

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am working with an LM628 Motion controller using it to read the position of an Encoder.

Let me preface by saying that I am a hobbyist and not formally educated in electronics. I understand a lot but sometimes miss the obvious.

I have set up the circuit with an Arduino and have it working with a larger power supply. I made the circuit around an pic 18f2520 and a 2.1a 5v regulator but the regulator is getting warm...and I don't think it should be getting warm meaning I need to go over my circuit.....but...I have a question I should be able to answer and I can not figure it out.

I am trying to reed the datasheet for the LM628 and I cannot figure out what tells me how much power I can expect it to use. This is my weakness in reading and understanding the datasheet.

Under "Absolute Maximum Ratings" I see maximum power dissipation of 605 mW. Is this the figure I need? Does this mean that at 5 volts I need a supply of 121 mA?

Thanks
Gary

Absolute Maximum Ratings is not indeed for operational purpose, but merely to know the condition up to what device can still operate, but will not burn yet.

+++

The part has a maximum Idd specification of 110 mA in electrical characteristics. It's a kind of legacy chip made in NMOS technology and has considerable static supply current consumption.

Thank you, that is what I needed.

Gary