Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

power on reset on At89S52

Status
Not open for further replies.

rellutzu

Member level 1
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
40
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
394
Hello there!

Does anyone know the values(exactly) for the P.O.R. circuit
on that At89S52?
I have programmed it (at least that it what the flash is telling me),
but I don't get to start my circuit! The logic levels on my ports are
the same as if I weren't using a P.O.R. circuit!
Feel free to reply here or at rellutzu_1981@yahoo.com !
Thank you for your time!

Actually my tests showed that EA had to be tied to VCC, not ALE!
What do you say about this?
Or both need VCC?
 

SphinX

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
822
Helped
58
Reputation
116
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
7,045
Hi,

R=8.2K
C=10uF

SphinX
 

gam

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 25, 2004
Messages
115
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,158
Hello,

In addition to the POR circuit (R=10K from Reset to GND and C=10UF from Rese tto VCC) as Sphinx mentioned you need to make sure the pin 31 (ALE) of the micro is connected to VCC as long as you are not using external memory.

Regards,

Gam
 

visualart

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 21, 2001
Messages
467
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,333
it is enough to the reset time (R=10K, C = 10U).
If don't get the start, u ought check your design.
 

gam

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 25, 2004
Messages
115
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,158
Actually, It will not start executing code while ALE was floating. I had to tie it to VCC to see the 89S52 come to life.

Regards,

Gam
 

Noman Yousaf

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
210
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Lahore Pakistan
Activity points
1,774
I also say that make ALE hi. But the best way for POR is use a schmit triger NAND like 4093.
Use only one gate. tie the inputs togather of any one gate. connect the 100k r from input to +Vand a cap of 1U from input of gate to GND. it will work best.
I have tried it many times.And found it the best
 

silvio

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
716
Helped
105
Reputation
210
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Romania
Activity points
11,470
Hi rellutzu,

The best answer for your question comes straight from the source:
https://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc4284.pdf

You should be aware of the bidirectional status of the 89S52's reset pin : input and output, not only input as usual.

From data sheet:
A high on this pin for two machine cycles while the oscillator is running
resets the device. This pin drives high for 98 oscillator periods after the Watchdog times
out. The DISRTO bit in SFR AUXR (address 8EH) can be used to disable this feature. In
the default state of bit DISRTO, the RESET HIGH out feature is enabled.

Concerning to EA and ALE status, if EA is tied to VCC, program fetches to addresses 0000H
through 1FFFH are directed to internal memory and fetches to addresses 2000H
through FFFFH are to external memory. The ALE is input only during programing. You can reduce EMI using the 89S52' sfeature of disabling the ALE pulses during internal program fetches or let it flow. But I don't see any reasons for tied to VCC and solving your problem doing so.

Regards,
Silvio
 

dynoboy

Junior Member level 2
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
315
you could also use a diode in teh circuitry designed in the POR that helps to remove the charge on the capacitor,
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top