Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Line Communication for Home Automation

Status
Not open for further replies.

waxppl

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a electrical student currently doing my final year project. The title is to use gsm phone to control home appliances through sms. For the home automation part, I plan to use tda5051a (power line modem) as the converter. My question is:

1. Is this tda5051a applicable in Malaysia? (If not, can you guys suggest other alternatives?)

2. I found the application note of tda5051a in the internet. Can I just build the circuit in the note?

Please help me. Thx :)

its a modem chip by NXP... its baud rate is very slow of about 600 or 1200.. Will that be enough for you application ... you can interface this to controller directly as shown in this circuit... i dont know which document you are referring to ... have a look at this,,,

**broken link removed**

---------- Post added at 11:04 ---------- Previous post was at 11:03 ----------

you can also go for readymade modems available easily like the one in this site...

N S K E L E C T R O N I C S
Sunrom Technologies, Your Source for Development

thank you for your reply.
yes. i plan to build the application circuit in the note page 15.
i dont really understand the circuit on where shud i connect the appliances?
or i just connect the 250V (AC) to home plug point then i will be able to control the home appliances that connected to other plug point.

this part confuses me. Hope u get my question. Thx :)