Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Amp design using LDMOS FET

Status
Not open for further replies.

Notorious

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am looking to design a Power Amp using an NE5520379A at 2.4GHz. I am a relative novice at designing RF power amps and am looking for guidance about how to go about matching the amp to 50ohm and the input and output.
I have the S-Parameters for the device and would like to know if there is any good (free) software that can be used to design the matching sections. I have seen some papers on power amp design but they all mention very expensive software (Microwave office etc).

I have had the opportunity to look inside an existing one and noticed a lopad of weird and wonderful looking matching sections etched on to the PCB and was wondering how do they go about working all that out?

I would really appreciate any help, thank you.

Dear Friend,

My advice is for you to choose another device if you have to build a 2.4GHz PA.

Some weeks ago I was assigned to design a 2 Watts PA operating at 2.4GHz. In our company we have as a standard procedure to characterize all the devices prior to proceed with the design. So I did for the NE5520379A. After a load and source pull measurements, this device was characterized to operate at 1.8GHz max with about the same datasheet's specs. However at 2.4GHz the gain rolled off to about 3dB, showing its total inapplicability at this frequency range. So, if you want you can take advantage of this experience and not waste your time as I already did go for another device else.