Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pls recommend Voltage to Current converter for PLL ICO

Status
Not open for further replies.

neoflash

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pll voltage to current

I hope the noise could be low, thanks.

voltage current converter pll

hello.
i am really a newbie in analog design , i have a question what is ICO , about ur question why not using a charge pump , many architectures are available, if u mean gm cell u can search for (gm-c filter) u will find some gm cells "V/I converters" architectures.

regards,
a.safwat

ico pll

ICO is current controlled oscillator.

You need to first translate your Vc into current, then control the oscillator.

hello,
i have another question, y using ICO (i thought it was called CCO) in the first place (i.e. what is the adv. over VCO, as it seems weired to me to convert current Ipump to Vc then Vc to current again )
anyway i found this and i thought it might help.

It's common to deploy GM-C structure in <100MHz oscillators,
and oscillation freqency is usually controlled by tail current.

jcpu said:
hello,
about GM-C what i understand is that it is a gm cell followed by a cap (filter) is this right?? , if this is right then the GM-C is used instead of the CP (plz correct me if this is wrong), then do i add another V/I after the filter (if i want to use ICO ), if so what is the diffrence between 1st and 2nd V/I cells?
sorry for the long question, but plz help as i am working in this part specially.
thnx and regards,
a.safwat

safwatonline said:
hello,