Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC18F and watchdog timer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

M3GAPL3X

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pic18f wdt

Hello guys,

I am a beginner with microcontrollers and need some advice on how to implment this power saving feature.

I need to put the 18F series PIC device to sleep and wake it up ever 20 ms to check the state of various inputs. The main reason for this is to save power. After some research, it seems the best way to implement this would be with a Watchdog Timer?

Is this correct? Any guidance in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

I will be using the C18 MPLab compiler.

pic watchdog

Yes, the watchdog timer (WDT) is the way to go.
1 - Set configuration bits to have WDT fire every 20 mS
2 - When you want to go to low power mode, enable the WDT and execute the Sleep instruction. Make sure you disable any peripheral modules you don't need to have active during power down, or you won't redcuce the power consumption much.
3 - After 20 mS the DWT will fire and wake-up the PIC. The code will start executing at the instruction just after the Sleep Instruction
4 - Disable the WDT, enable any peripheral modules you need to use, and then run your application - repeat from step 2

M3GAPL3X

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
watchdog timer in pic18f