Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16f628a or PIC16f84ap for replacement of PIC16F628

Status
Not open for further replies.

dope40

Member level 4
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
76
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Bulgaria
Activity points
1,777
hi, i am building a cdi unit ( **broken link removed** ) but i am facing a problem , i can't find PIC16f628 nowhere,all i can find is PIC16f628A-i/p , and in the parts list (**broken link removed** ) PIC16f84AP is presented as replacement ,so can you tell me if it will work with either one , and do i have to make any changes to the circuit or the code . and which one should i use.
 
Last edited:

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
15,217
Helped
4,958
Reputation
9,938
Reaction score
4,784
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
129,217
Re: PIC16f628 or PIC16f84ap

The differences between the 628 and 628A are very minor and in almost all circumstances the 628A will work as a direct replacement.

Some of the configuration bits are renamed although their function is still the same.
There is a change to the way code protection works, this shouldn't make any difference to functionality.
When TMR1 is tun in oscillator mode, it is optimized for 32KHz crystals instead of 200KHz.

For your application none of the differences are important and as it will work with the much older and simpler 16F84 it should work with the newer 628A.

Brian.
 

dope40

Member level 4
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
76
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Bulgaria
Activity points
1,777
Re: PIC16f628 or PIC16f84ap

thanks :smile:

- - - Updated - - -

thanks :-D
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,427
Helped
1,713
Reputation
3,456
Reaction score
1,678
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,372
Re: PIC16f628 or PIC16f84ap

https://www.microchip.com/forums/m108394.aspx


FROM PIC16F84 to PIC16F628 Guide
https://talkingelectronics.com/pay/PIC/PIC-Page33.html

F84&F628BlockDiags.gif



Microchip PIC16F84 ® PIC16F84A Migration Guide
https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/30072b.pdf
 

ALERTLINKS

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,259
Helped
396
Reputation
786
Reaction score
380
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
7,263
Re: PIC16f628 or PIC16f84ap

Code sise limit is 1K in 16F84 wheras its 2K in 16F628. If your code is more than 1K, it won't fit in 16F84. There is some memory allocation difference too, which may or may not bother.
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,427
Helped
1,713
Reputation
3,456
Reaction score
1,678
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,372
Re: PIC16f628 or PIC16f84ap

We should speak about migration from 84 to 628 not reverse, that is purpose of 628. In some cases reverse not possible.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top