Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Pic to rs232 without level converter ic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analyzer

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
374
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,518
rs232 level converter ic

I built a circuit that uses a level converter max232 and now i need to cancel it due to make pcb smaller and reduce cost.I saw many circuits can work without this ic.They use classical resistors.So how should i connect rs232 pins to my pic 16f628 and how should i modify my ccs c code? Thanks.
Analyzer
 

direnc

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
453
If your only goal is to save PCB space, did you consider using another level converter? For example the dallas DS275 has only 8 pins and requires no external components. Other semiconductor vendors offer such parts, too.
 

xxtigerxx

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
444
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Greece
Activity points
2,903
You can try this if you use software 232 routines

You can use the following but in software you have to invert the data.
Output is easy with only a resistor in series(1K) just for protection.
Again you have to invert data.
This way you may have shorter line length.

47K 22K 1N4148
RX from rs-232C -----/\/\/\/\---+---+------RX ttl
| _
\ / \
/ __
\ |
| |
__ __
 

Nick C.

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
281
Helped
33
Reputation
66
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,213
Yes, the simple resistor will work with the
PIC/RS-232 connection - most of the time.
However, if this is for a product that others
will be using, it is proper engineering practice
to adhere to the specifications. Just because
it might work with your PC doesn't mean it
will work with all others. Been there, done that.

Just something to keep in mind.
 

xxtigerxx

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
444
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Greece
Activity points
2,903
Sorry
I've tried to draw it with text but!!!

OK
1)We have input from RS-232C
2)place a divider 47K(series) with 22K(to GND)
3)At the output of the divider (midpoint of 47K and 22K) connect
the cathode of a 1N4148 and its anode to GND.
4) Take signal from 1N4148 cathode.

5) INVERT ALL DATA IN SOFT.

enjoy it
 

drwho78

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
163
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,143
If you need to drive a long length of cable, use level converters. The RS232 level must be greater than +/- 3V at the receiving end to operate properly. If you drive less than 5V, make sure that the receiver at the other end will see enough voltage.
 

xxtigerxx

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
444
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Greece
Activity points
2,903
Simple thing

you can use Zener or 1N4148
My regards
 

mountain

Member level 2
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
49
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
649
Most PIC is 5V, and the RS232C is +/- 12V, So I think it needs a IC
 

feiutm9898

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
224
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Singapore
Activity points
2,034
U can search same family at maxim-ic.com at same family at max232. U can choose same family IC which has built in capacitor.

I prefer do like this. Also can save place.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top