Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Phasor Representation of voltage and current waveforms

electronicsman

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
279
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,565
I am bit confused with the Phasor representation of voltages and currents. Does the magnitude of the phasor length is RMS value or Peak value? Please advise.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,841
Helped
4,011
Reputation
8,022
Reaction score
3,906
Trophy points
113
Activity points
117,989
Hi,

Peak.
It's a (rotating) vector. So the maximum ( = peak ) extension in X-axis is the length of the vector.

Klaus
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,281
Helped
13,996
Reputation
28,245
Reaction score
12,646
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
275,243
Phasor is not a rotating vector, it's a static vector representing a sine quantity. Scaling of vector length is a matter of convention. In power electronics we prefer rms, as used in the linked tutorial.
 

electronicsman

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
279
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,565
Phasor is not a rotating vector, it's a static vector representing a sine quantity.
I am sorry i did not understand when you said it is not a rotating vector. Does it make any difference? Can I use the RMS values for both rotating vector and static vector? And also how do i know if i am using RMS value or Peak value, do i need to indicate in the representation? I know static vector is called the phasor, does rotating is also called phasor or by another name? Please advise.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,841
Helped
4,011
Reputation
8,022
Reaction score
3,906
Trophy points
113
Activity points
117,989
Hi,

I have to admit that the phasor magnitude may be the RMS value.

Klaus
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,281
Helped
13,996
Reputation
28,245
Reaction score
12,646
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
275,243
Can I use the RMS values for both rotating vector and static vector? And also how do i know if i am using RMS value or Peak value, do i need to indicate in the representation? I know static vector is called the phasor, does rotating is also called phasor or by another name?
The length of a rotating vector corresponds obviously to a peak value. For the time invariant phasor constant, both rms and peak is used, depending on the application range. If there's a risk of ambiguity, you should declare your usage. In some literature, the rotating vector is also called phasor, hence the requested clarification can't be made.
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top